Lindsey Davis Profile and Books

Lindsey Davis was born in Birmingham in 1949. She studied English as Oxford the joined the civil service. She left the civil service after 13 years to become a writer. With an interest in history and archaeology her focus has always been on historical novels. Her series featuring the Roman detective Marcus Didius Falco has been a run-away success and now extends to 20 novels and a compendium. Other novels by Davis include ‘Rebels and Traitors’ – set in the English civil war, and ‘The Course of Honour’ – the true love story of Emperor Vespasian and his mistress Antonia Caenis.

Lindsey Davis’ awards and nominations include:

  • Winner of the Author’s Club Prize for “Best First Novel” in 1989 for The Silver Pigs.
  • Winner of the Crime Writers’ Association (CWA): Dagger in the Library for being an author “whose work has given most pleasure” in 1995.
  • Winner of the first Ellis Peters Historical Dagger awarded by the Crime Writers’ Association in 1999 for Two for the Lions.
  • Winner of the Sherlock Award for the Best Comic Detective in 2000 for Didius Falco.
  • Awarded the 2010 Premio Colosseo, awarded by the city of Rome to someone who “has enhanced the image of Rome in the world”
  • Winner of the 2011 Cartier Diamond Dagger from the Crime Writers’ Association

Her published books include:

Flavia Albia series:

Marcus Didius Falco series:

Associated Falco publication

  • Falco: The Official Companion (2010)


Filed under Author Profiles, Davis, Lindsey