Troy: Lord of the Silver Bow by David Gemmell

Wow, this is one of the best books that I’ve ever read. It’s been on my reading list for months and I’m glad I finally got to it. It’s part 1 of a trilogy, so now I can’t wait to get to the others – ‘Troy: Shield of Thunder’ and ‘Troy: Fall of Kings’.

The main character in the book is the man known to his friends as Helikaon. He is Prince Aeneas of Dardania (a region to the north of Troy) and is also known as ‘The Golden One’ and ‘The Lord of the Silver Bow’. His father was Anchises, the King of Dardania who dismissed him as a weak child and named his second son as heir. Odysseus (king of Ithaka and great storyteller) was hired to remove him from Dardania, and under his care Helikaon grew up to become a hero of the seas. But, as with many heroes of the time, Helikaon also has a dark side, so we also get to see the bloodthirsty warrior.

Helikaon is also the nephew of Priam who is King of Troy and father of Hektor (and dozens of other sons and daughters).

Another key character in the story is Andromache. She has been serving as a priestess on the Island of Thera but is betrothed to Hektor after the tragic death of her sister. She and Helikaon instantly fall in love when they meet, knowing that they can never be together.

During his travels, Helikaon also meets Agurios. Agurios is a Mykene warrior and sworn enemy of Helikaon. But he behaves with honour towards Helikaon, earning himself the enmity of the brutal Mykene King – Argamemnon.

There are a huge number of other characters in the story all of whom are brilliantly portrayed. Hekabe – wife of Priam and mother of Hektor; Agathon, Laodike, Kassandra, Paris, Antiphones, Dios – sons and daughters of Priam; Kolanos, Kalliades and Banokles – Mykene warriors; and many others.

I won’t give away anything about the story because it is an absolute ‘must read’. The characters are brilliant and the story moves at an excellent pace. The bloodthirsty parts made my stomach churn, and the tragic parts brought me close to tears. I can’t wait to start the next book in the trilogy.


Book Published 2005


See a full list of books by David Gemmell

Leave a Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Fantasy, Gemmell, David, Historical, Mythology, Series Fiction

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>