Ian Rankin Profile and Books

Ian Rankin was born in 1960 and like his main character Rebus, was born in Fife. He attended Edinburgh University and while studying for his doctorate in Scottish Literature, he wrote his first novel ‘Knots and Crosses’ which explores the darker side of Edinburgh through the eyes of the detective John Rebus.

The Rebus series now extends to 17 novels and has been translated into over 20 languages with many of the novels adapted for TV. Ian Rankin is now working on a new series featuring Malcolm Fox. He has also written a number of other books. His novels are all based on real-life incidents and attempt to highlight issues that are simmering just below the surface – drugs, racism, paedophilia.

Several of Ian Rankin’s novels have won awards and in 2005 he was awarded the UK Crime Writers Association Cartier Diamond Dagger for lifetime achievement. He was also awarded an OBE for services to literature in 2002.

He lives in Edinburgh with his wife Miranda and their two sons Jack and Kit.


His novels to date are:

Malcolm Fox Series:


Rebus Series:



  • The Beat Goes On (short story collection) (due 2014)
  • Dark Road (due 2014)
  • A Cool Head (2009) (Quick Reads 2009)
  • Dark Entries (2009) (Vertigo Crime featuring John Constantine)
  • Doors Open (2008)
  • Rebus’s Scotland: A Personal Journey (2005) (Non-Fiction)
  • Beggars Banquet (2002) (Short Stories)
  • A Good Hanging and Other Stories (1992)
  • Westwind (1998)
  • Watchman (1988)
  • The Flood (1986)


Written as Jack Harvey:

  • Blood Hunt (1995)
  • Bleeding Hearts (1994)
  • Witch Hunt (1993)


Short Stories:

  • Sinner: justified (2006) (published in Superhumanatural)
  • Atonement (2005) (written for the anthology “Complete Short Stories”)
  • Not just another Saturday (2005 ) (written for SNIP, a charity organisation)
  • Soft Spot (2005) (published in Dangerous Women)
  • Saint Nicked (2003) (published in 2 numbers of Radio Times)
  • The Hanged Man (2000) (published in The World’s finest mystery and crime stories)
  • Death is Not the End (1998) (novella later expanded into Dead Souls)
  • Principles of Accounts (1997) (published in Mystery’s Most Wanted)
  • Auld Lang Syne (1997) (published in The Orion Book of Murder)
  • Natural Selection (1996) (published in Fresh Blood)
  • Adventures in Babysitting (1995) (published in No Alibi and in Master’s Choice Two)
  • A deep hole (1994) (published in London Noir)
  • Someone Got to Eddie (1994) (published in 3rd Culprit)
  • Well Shot (1993) (published in 2nd Culprit)
  • Marked for Death (1992) (published in Constable New Crimes 1)
  • Trip Trap (1992) (published in 1st Culprit)
  • Territory (1987) (published in Scottish Short Stories 1987)
  • Colony (1986) (published in New Writing Scotland)
  • Voyeurism (1985) (published in New Writing Scotland)
  • An Afternoon (1984) (published in New Writing Scotland)


1 Comment

Filed under Author Profiles, Rankin, Ian

One Response to Ian Rankin Profile and Books

  1. Pingback: Rather be the Devil by Ian Rankin | Written Gems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>