Val McDermid Profile and Books

Val McDermid was born in 1955 and grew up in Fife on the East Coast of Scotland. She wanted to be a writer from an early age – from the moment that she discovered that books were written by real people.

She read English at Oxford, then became a journalist (to support herself with a ‘proper’ job).

McDermid’s first attempts at writing were not terribly successful, but after trying out crime writing (a genre that she’d always loved to read) she achieved success with the first book in her Lindsay Gordon series – Report for Murder. She has now repeated that success many times over, publishing three successful series (Lindsay Gordon, Kate Brannigan and Tony Hill/Carol Jordon) and a number of stand-alone novels. The Tony Hill series is the basis for the ‘Wire in the Blood’ TV series starring Robson Green.

Val McDermid divides her time between Manchester and Northumberland with her partner, son and several cats and dogs.

McDermids publications:

Stand-alone books

  • A Suitable Job for a Woman (non-fiction) (1994)
  • The Writing on the Wall (short stories) (1997)
  • A Place of Execution (1999)
  • Killing the Shadows (2000)
  • Stranded (short stories) (2005)
  • The Grave Tattoo (2006)
  • Trick of the Dark (2010)
  • Vanishing Point (2002)
  • Cross Roads (short story) (2013)

Karen Pirie series:

Tony Hill and Carol Jordan series

Kate Brannigan series

  • Dead Beat (#1) (1992)
  • Kick Back (#2) (1993)
  • Crack Down (#3) (1994)
  • Clean Break (#4) (1995)
  • Blue Genes (#5) (1996)
  • Star Struck (#6) (1998)

Lindsay Gordon series

  • Report for Murder (#1) (1987)
  • Common Murder (#2) (1989)
  • Final Edition/ Open and Shut, Deadline for Murder (#3) (1991)
  • Union Jack/ Conferences are Murder (#4) (1993)
  • Booked for Murder (#5) (1996)
  • Hostage to Murder (#6) (2003)

Children’s books:

  • My Granny is a Pirate (2012)



Filed under Author Profiles, McDermid, Val

3 Responses to Val McDermid Profile and Books

  1. Pingback: Insidious Intent by Val McDermid | Written Gems

  2. Pingback: The Distant Echo by Val McDermid | Written Gems

  3. Pingback: A Darker Domain by Val McDermid | Written Gems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>