Elizabeth George Profile and Books

Elizabeth George was born Susan Elizabeth George in Ohio in 1949 but moved to California at a young age. She studied English at the University of California and California State University obtaining a teaching degree and later a Masters degree in Counselling and Psychology. She has also been awarded an Honorary Masters in Fine Arts.

Elizabeth George worked as a teacher in the public school system for thirteen years until she published her first novel in 1988. She has since taught courses in writing at Colleges and Universities.

She was married to Ira Jay Toiban from 1971 to 1995 when they were divorced.

The main series of books written by Elizabeth George is set in England, and many readers are surprised when they find out that she is actually American. Her main character – Thomas Linley (Lord Asherton) is a noble born Scotland Yard Detective who works alongside the very working class Barbara Havers.

In 2012 Elizabeth George published her first novel for the Young Adult market.

Works by Elizabeth George:

Inspector Lynley Series

Young Adult:

Saratoga Woods series

  • The Edge of Nowhere (#1) (2012)
  • The Edge of the Water (#2) (2013)
  • The Edge of the Shadows (#3) (2014)
  • The Edge of the Light (2016)

Other Fiction

  • The Evidence Exposed (short story collection) (2001)
  • I, Richard (short story collection) (2002)
  • A Moment on the Edge: 100 Years of Crime Stories by Women (2004)


  • Write Away (2004)

1 Comment

Filed under Author Profiles, George, Elizabeth

One Response to Elizabeth George Profile and Books

  1. Pingback: The Punishment she Deserves by Elizabeth George | Written Gems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>