The Broken Places by Ace Atkins

‘The Broken Places’ is the third book in Ace Atkins’ Quinn Colson series. Quinn is an Afghanistan veteran who has returned to his home town of Jericho Mississippi and is now sheriff of Tibbehah County. The first two books in the series (‘The Ranger’ and ‘The Lost Ones’) were excellent, but this one is even better.

When Jamie Dixon was pardoned from his murder charge, he didn’t have to return to his home town of Jericho. But he did return, and having found God while in prison, he is now a preacher setting up a church. He has also set up a relationship with Quinn’s sister Caddy. The town is divided on whether he is a murderer who got away with it, a reformed character, or a completely innocent man.

To add to the complications, Quinn has been gradually getting closer to the town mortician – Ophelia who is the twin sister of the woman who Dixon was charged with murdering.

Now three men have escaped from Parchman Prison to come looking for Dixon. Esau, Bones and Dickie are convinced that Dixon has something that belongs to them, and they have no intention of leaving until Dixon gives them what they’re after. They have absolutely nothing to lose, and no hesitation in murdering anyone who gets in their way.

As the story progresses and the murder tally starts to climb, we start to wonder who the good guys and who the bad guys are. Even Quinn and his deputy Lillie Virgil bend the law to their own purposes.

Then a tornado hits Jericho and the surrounding countryside and all hell breaks loose!


This book was excellent. The series just seems to get better and better as it goes. I highly recommend reading the series from the beginning as many of the characters are also developing as the series progresses. My favourite characters (apart from Quinn) are Quinn’s friend Boom, his mother Jean, deputy sheriff Lillie Virgil, and the man who thinks he runs the town – Johnny Stagg. I’m also enjoying Quinn’s women – Anna Lea and Ophelia. I can’t wait for the next instalment.


Book Published 2013


See a full list of books by Ace Atkins

Leave a Comment

Filed under Atkins, Ace, Book Reviews, Crime, Series Fiction, Thriller

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>