Denise Mina Profile and Books

Denise Mina was born in 1966 in Glasgow but spent the first 18 years of her life travelling around Europe. Her father was an Engineer and followed the European oil boom.

She left school at the age of 16 and worked in several low skilled jobs before passing an exam at the age of 21 which enabled her to study law at Glasgow University. She then went on to study for a PHD at Strathclyde University and also taught criminology and criminal law. It was while she was supposed to be working on her PHD thesis that she wrote her first novel – Garnethill, which was published in 1998 and became the first novel of a trilogy.

Mina has continued to write, producing many award winning novels, plays, radio plays, comics and graphic novels. She has always felt like an outsider in the crime- writing scene and has only recently come to terms with the idea of not having to look for a waitressing job after each publication.


Novels by Denise Mina (hopefully many more to come):

Alex Morrow novels

  • #5 Blood, Salt, Water (due 2015)

Patricia “Paddy” Meehan novels

  • #3 The Last Breath/ Slip of the Knife (US) (2007)
  • #2 The Dead Hour (2006)
  • #1 The Field of Blood (2005)

Garnethill trilogy

  • #3 Resolution (2001)
  • #2 Exile (2000)
  • #1 Garnethill (1998)

Other novels

  • The Long Drop (2016)
  • Sanctum/ Deception (US) (2003)

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author Profiles, Mina, Denise

Comments are closed.