Robert Ludlum Profile and Books

Robert Ludlum was born in 1927 in New York and died in 2001. He was from a reasonably wealthy family and attended the Rectory School, the Cheshire Academy and the Wesleyan University in Connecticut.

Ludlum was a United States Marine, an actor and a producer, only becoming a writer later in life (his first novel was published when he was 41). His theatrical experience helped greatly with his becoming a suspense writer. His writing was incredibly successful and enabled him to live a jet-setter lifestyle while researching locations for his novels.

Ludlum’s novels are based on conspiracy theories with an individual or group overcoming evil adversaries.

He produced 27 thriller novels, including five published posthumously. A number of novels have been produced, by other authors, based on his work (the best known of these is the Bourne series).

Conspiracy theories and intrigue followed him into death as he died shortly after being injured in a highly suspicious fire.


Novels published during Ludlum’s lifetime:

  • The Prometheus Deception (2000)
  • The Matarese Countdown (1997)
  • The Apocalypse Watch (1995)
  • The Scorpio Illusion (1993)
  • The Road to Omaha (1992)
  • The Bourne Ultimatum (1990)
    Read Review of The Bourne Ultimatum
  • The Icarus Agenda (1988)
  • The Bourne Supremacy (1986)
    Read Review of The Bourne Supremacy
  • The Aquitaine Progression (1984)
  • The Parsifal Mosaic (1982)
  • The Bourne Identity (1980)
    Read Review of The Bourne Identity
  • The Matarese Circle (1979)
  • The Holcroft Covenant (1978)
  • The Chancellor Manuscript (1977)
  • The Gemini Contenders (1976)
  • The Road to Gandolfo (writing as Michael Shepherd) (1975)
  • The Rhinemann Exchange (1974)
  • The Cry of the Halidon (writing as Jonathan Ryder) (1974)
  • Trevayne (writing as Jonathan Ryder) (1973)
  • The Matlock Paper (1973)
  • The Osterman Weekend (1972)
  • The Scarlatti Inheritance (1971)

Novels Published posthumously:

  • The Bancroft Strategy (2006)
  • The Ambler Warning (2005)
  • The Tristan Betrayal (2003)
  • The Janson Directive (2002)
  • The Sigma Protocol (2001)

Novels written by other authors.

  • The Utopia Experiment (by Kyle Mills) (2013)
  • The Janus Reprisal (by Jamie Freveletti) (2012)
  • The Ares Decision (by Kyle Mills) (2011)
  • The Arctic Event (by James H. Cobb) (2007)
  • The Moscow Vector (by Patrick Larkin) (2005)
  • The Lazarus Vendetta (by Patrick Larkin) (2004)
  • The Altman Code (by Gayle Lynds) (2003)
  • The Paris Option (by Gayle Lynds) (2002)
  • The Cassandra Compact (by Philip Shelby) (2001)
  • The Hades Factor (by Gayle Lynds) (2000)

Bourne series

Janson series

  • The Janson Equation (by Douglas Corleone) (2015)
  • The Janson Option (by Paul Garrison) (2014)
  • The Janson Command (by Paul Garrison) (2012)
  • The Janson Directive (2002)


Leave a Comment

Filed under Author Profiles, Ludlum, Robert

Comments are closed.