Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton

‘Little Black Lies’ is the first book that I’ve read by Sharon Bolton. What an introduction! I now want to read everything she’s written.

The story is set in the Falkland Islands and this wild and rugged landscape with its recent history of war plays a large part in the story.

The story is told from the point of view of each of the three main characters. Catrin Quinn’s family has lived in the islands for generations. Three years ago her two sons were killed in a tragic accident and she blames her then best friend for their deaths. Callum Murray, originally from Scotland, fought for the British in the Falkland Islands war. He came back to live in the one place where he felt he could control his PTSD and be free from flashbacks. Rachel and Catrin grew up doing everything together. They have not spoken in three years. Rachel has never forgiven herself for what happened to Catrin’s children.

The Islanders are a small close knit community where everyone knows everyone else’s business. But in recent years, three young boys have gone missing. By now, no one can believe that it’s accidental and people are becoming suspicious of each other.

The story opens when the third child has just gone missing. We follow the islanders as the search gets under way and Catrin in particular as she carries out her work as a conservation officer.

Then a fourth child goes missing and the islanders, police and media find a target for their suspicions with devastating consequences.


The story was brilliantly written and had me guessing until the very end. The last page was fairly mind blowing – I had to reread it a few times, even though it was something that I had suspected once or twice.

The characters and place were brought to life for me. At times I felt like I was actually there.

My only criticism (a minor one) was with the multiple points of view. When moving from one character to another I had a bit of trouble remembering what the earlier accounts had mentioned for a particular day. Also, by the time I got to Rachel’s account I didn’t like her very much and it took a while to develop sympathy for her point of view.

This was an excellent novel and I can’t wait to read more from Sharon Bolton. I’ll be reading her Lacey Flint series starting with ‘Now You See Me’ and also look forward to any new books.


Book Published 2015


See a full list of books by Sharon Bolton


Filed under Bolton, Sharon, Book Reviews, Crime, Mystery, Psychological, Thriller

2 Responses to Little Black Lies by Sharon Bolton

  1. Pingback: Sharon (S.J.) Bolton | Written Gems

  2. Pingback: Now You See Me by S.J. (Sharon) Bolton | Written Gems