The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz

‘The Girl in the Spider’s Web’ is a continuation of the Millennium series by Stieg Larsson (‘The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo‘, ‘The Girl Who Played With Fire‘, ‘The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest‘)… sort of. This book was written without the benefit of Larsson’s extensive notes or the blessing of those that Larsson held dear. But if you want to enjoy a good read then it’s best to ignore the vagaries of Swedish Inheritance law.

Franz Balder is an expert in Artificial Intelligence and his work has taken him further than anyone has ever gone before. But some of his earlier work was stolen and now his life and his work are being threatened. His young autistic son August is staying with him and for the first time in his life something is more important than his work. He has always been secretive and has never spoken to the media before, but now he calls Mikael Blomvkist, journalist and part owner of Millennium magazine to give him the full story. But before Blomvkist can get to Balder, tragedy strikes.

Meanwhile, Lisbeth Salander has managed to hack into the National Security Agency. She is still looking for information on her father’s (the evil Zalachenko) criminal network. She finds more than she bargained for – possible links between governments, big business and organised crime, and plenty of industrial theft.

Uncovering the criminals rests on keeping young August Balder safe and decrypting a file that should be impossible to decrypt.

The incorruptible journalist Blomvkist and the super tough and surly hacker Salander are once again thrown together. Blomvkist wants to expose wrongdoers but Salander, as usual, has her own hidden agenda.


I loved the plot of this novel and the writing was pretty good as well (once it got going). I think that David Lagercrantz has done an excellent job with Larsson’s much loved characters even if this should probably be classed as fan fiction.

There are no current plans for further novels in the series, but the end of this was left very open, and given its success I won’t be surprised if the series continues. I very much hope that it does.

The next novel in the series is ‘The Girl who Takes an Eye for an Eye‘.


Book Published 2015


See a full list of books by David Lagercrantz

See a full list of books by Stieg Larsson

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews, Crime, Lagercrantz, David, Series Fiction, Thriller

One Response to The Girl in the Spider’s Web by David Lagercrantz

  1. Pingback: Stieg Larsson Profile and Books | Written Gems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>