Richard Flanagan Profile and Books

Richard Flanagan was born in 1961 in Tasmania. He is the 5th of 6 children and his family is descended from Irish convicts transported to Australia.

Flanagan grew up in a remote mining town and left school at the age of 16 to work as a bush labourer. He later attended the University of Tasmania where he earned a Bachelor of Arts and Oxford University for a Master of Letters.

His early writing was non-fiction and mostly biographical. He wrote his first novel in 1994 and his novels have won many awards. ‘The Narrow Road to the Deep North’, partially based on his father’s experience as a prisoner of war on the Thai-Burma railway, won the Man Booker prize in 2014.

Flanagan lives in Hobart Tasmania with his wife and three daughters.



  • Death of a River Guide (1994)
  • The Sound of One Hand Clapping (1997)
  • Gould’s Book of Fish: A Novel in Twelve Fish (2001)
  • The Unknown Terrorist (2006)
  • Wanting (2008)
  • The Narrow Road to the Deep North (2013)


  • A Terrible Beauty: History of the Gordon River Country (1985)
  • The Rest of the World Is Watching — Tasmania and the Greens (co-editor) (1990)
  • Codename Iago: The Story of John Friedrich (co-writer) (1991)
  • Parish-Fed Bastards. A History of the Politics of the Unemployed in Britain, 1884–1939 (1991)
  • And What Do You Do, Mr Gable? (2011)

Leave a Comment

Filed under Author Profiles, Flanagan, Richard

Comments are closed.