Meg and Tom Keneally Profile and Books

Tom Keneally is a well known Australian author, born in Sydney in 1935. He has written many novels and plays, his most famous is Schindler’s Ark which was adapted to the Steven Spielberg movie Schindler’s List.

Keneally grew up in Kempsey and Sydney. He began training to be a Catholic priest but did not go on to be ordained. He worked as a school teacher until he gained enough success with his writing to write full time.

Even at the age of 80, Tom Keneally still has so much more that he wants to write, so he was delighted to enlist the help of his eldest daughter Meg in his latest enterprise, the Monsarrat series.

Meg Keneally has worked in public affairs and journalism. She co-founded a financial service public relations company, worked in corporate affairs for listed financial services companies as well as working part time as a SCUBA diving instructor.

Tom Keneally lives in the Blue Mountains west of Sydney. Meg Keneally lives in Sydney with her husband and 2 children.

By Meg and Tom Keneally:

Monsarrat Series

By Thomas Keneally:


  • The Place at Whitton (1964)
  • The Fear (1965), rewritten as By the Line (1989)
  • Bring Larks and Heroes (1967)
  • Three Cheers for the Paraclete (1968)
  • The Survivor (1969)
  • A Dutiful Daughter (1971)
  • The Chant of Jimmie Blacksmith (1972)
  • Blood Red, Sister Rose (1974)
  • Gossip from the Forest (1975)
  • Season in Purgatory (1976)
  • Ned Kelly and the City of the Bees (1978)
  • A Victim of the Aurora (1978)
  • Passenger (1979)
  • Confederates (1979)
  • The Cut-Rate Kingdom (1980)
  • Schindler’s Ark (1982)
  • A Family Madness (1985)
  • The Playmaker (1987)
  • Act of Grace/ Firestorm (1985), (under the pseudonym William Coyle)
  • By the Line (1989)
  • Towards Asmara (1989)
  • Flying Hero Class (1991)
  • Chief of Staff (1991), (under the pseudonym William Coyle)
  • Woman of the Inner Sea (1993)
  • Jacko: The Great Intruder (1993)
  • A River Town (1995)
  • Bettany’s Book (2000)
  • An Angel in Australia/ Office of Innocence (2000)
  • The Tyrant’s Novel (2003)
  • The Widow and Her Hero (2007)
  • The People’s Train (2009)
  • The Daughters of Mars (2012)
  • Shame and the Captives (2014)
  • Napoleon’s Last Island (2015)


  • Moses the Law-Giver (1975)
  • Outback (1983)
  • Australia: Beyond the Dreamtime (1987)
  • The Place Where Souls are Born: A Journey to the Southwest (1992)
  • Now and in Time to Be: Ireland and the Irish (1992)
  • Memoirs from a Young Republic (1993)
  • The Utility Player: The Des Hasler Story (1993)
  • Our Republic (1995)
  • Homebush Boy: A Memoir (1995), autobiography
  • The Great Shame (1998)
  • American Scoundrel: The Life of the Notorious Civil War General Dan Sickles (2002)
  • Lincoln (2003), biography of Abraham Lincoln
  • The Commonwealth of Thieves: The Story of the Founding of Australia (2005)
  • Searching for Schindler: A Memoir (2007)
  • Australians: Origins to Eureka (2009)
  • Three Famines: Starvation and Politics (2011)
  • Australians: Eureka to the Diggers (2011)
  • Australians: Flappers to Vietnam (2014)


  • Halloran’s Little Boat (1968)
  • Childermas (1968)
  • An Awful Rose (1972)
  • Bullie’s House (1981)
  • Either Or (2007)



Filed under Australian Author, Author Profiles, Keneally, Meg and Tom

2 Responses to Meg and Tom Keneally Profile and Books

  1. Pingback: The Unmourned by Meg and Tom Keneally | Written Gems

  2. Pingback: The Power Game by Meg and Tom Keneally | Written Gems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>