Hades by Candice Fox

‘Hades’ is an amazingly gripping novel. It is Candice Fox’s debut novel and the first in a series featuring police detectives Frank Bennett and Eden Archer. Books 2 & 3 are already available, they are ‘Eden’ and ‘Fall’.

Heinrich ‘Hades’ Archer runs a rubbish tip in South Western Sydney where he creates sculptures from the rubbish. He is also a fixer. He is known as the Lord of the Underworld and people turn to him to dispose of bodies that they never want found.

Twenty years ago, a kidnapping went horribly wrong and one of the kidnappers arrived at Hades’ door with the bodies of two young children. But Hades found them to be clinging to life, just. Eden and Eric grew up at Utulla tip with Hades as their mentor, running wild and home schooled. Their lives were permanently marked by their original tragedy and by the way they grew up. They both joined the police.

Frank Bennett has just joined the murder squad and been partnered with Eden. But he doesn’t get on with Eric who watches over Eden’s every move.

The squad is on the trail of a serial killer who carefully chooses his victims to help save another life. This killer is a meticulous planner who doesn’t seem to make any mistakes. It takes some amazing detective work and a lot of luck to eventually lead the team in the right direction.

Meanwhile, Frank senses something odd about Eden and Eric and starts his own private investigation to find out what they have been getting up to outside of work.


This novel had me hooked from the first page and I had trouble putting it down.

I didn’t get much of a feel for Frank Bennett in this novel, but Eden, Eric and Hades all leapt off the page with their malicious intensity.

The murder case itself was extremely gory but completely fascinating.

And I absolutely loved the tour of Sydney through Watson’s Bay, Maroubra, across to Camden and lots of places in between. It’s amazing what can go on beneath the dun-drenched and leafy façade.

I loved this novel and can’t wait to read the next in the series – ‘Eden’.


Book Published 2014


See a full list of books by Candice Fox


Filed under Australian Author, Book Reviews, Crime, Detective, Fox, Candice, Series Fiction, Thriller

2 Responses to Hades by Candice Fox

  1. Pingback: Candice Fox Profile and Books | Written Gems

  2. Pingback: Eden by Candice Fox | Written Gems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>