The Girl who Takes an Eye for an Eye by David Lagercrantz

‘The Girl who Takes an Eye for an Eye’ is the 5th novel in the millennium series and the 2nd novel in the series written by David Lagercrantz. The first 3 novels were written by Stieg Larsson.

Lisbeth Salander has been sentenced to prison after the events of the previous novel. She finds herself in a maximum security section where one of the inmates, who calls herself Benito, seems to run the place. And Benito is intent on bullying the defenceless young Bangladeshi woman Faria Kazi. Faria has been unfairly imprisoned after months of being a prisoner in her own home, held by the ultraconservative and controlling male members of her family. There’s nothing that Lisbeth hates more than a bully so she sets up her plans to take care of Benito then Faria’s brothers.

But that’s not the only thing on Lisbeth’s mind. With the help of her foster carer Holger Palmgren, she has found more information to help her understand what happened to her as a young child. It seems that Lisbeth and her sister were one of several sets of twins whose lives were manipulated and studied by ‘The Registry’.

Another life greatly affected by the Registry was that of Leo Mannheimer, a well known economist and share market expert. As millennium journalist Michael Blomvkist seeks to find out more about Leo (at Lisbeth’s suggestion) he starts to uncover elements of a devious plot set up by a ruthless group who will stop at nothing to keep their secrets.

Can Lisbeth and Blomvkist turn the tables and gain the upper hand against Benito, the Kazi brothers and the Registry?


This was another good addition to the series. At times I felt the novel lost its way a bit, or maybe I just lost my way within the novel. The story was complex and mostly it tied together pretty well.

Most of the characters from previous novels were there and a few excellent characters were introduced. I loved Leo and Dan.

I still think that nothing can beat the original trilogy by Stieg Larsson, but David Lagercrantz is doing an excellent job of keeping the series going and I’m looking forward to the next novel.


Published 2017


See a full list of books by David Lagercrantz

See a full list of books by Stieg Larsson


Filed under Book Reviews, Lagercrantz, David, Series Fiction, Thriller

2 Responses to The Girl who Takes an Eye for an Eye by David Lagercrantz

  1. Pingback: David Lagercrantz Profile and Books | Written Gems

  2. Pingback: Stieg Larsson Profile and Books | Written Gems