Rick Riordan Profile and Books

Rick Riordan was born in 1964 in San Antonio, Texas. He studied English and History at the University of Texas and taught English and History at various schools for 15 years. He was always a writer and attempted to have his work published in his teenage years but it wasn’t till his 30s that his first work (an adult mystery) was published.

It was while telling stories to his children that Riordan invented the character of Percy Jackson. One of Riordan’s son’s has ADHD and dyslexia, so the character of Percy Jackson also has these conditions, a sure sign that he is a demi-god. The original Percy Jackson book became the first in a 5 book series. This was followed by the Heroes pf Olympus series and the Kane Chronicles as well as many supplementary materials. Riordan is now well known as an author for children and young adults (and the young at heart).


Tres Navarre series

  • Big Red Tequila (#1) (1997)
  • The Widower’s Two-Step (#2) (1998)
  • The Last King of Texas (#3) (2001)
  • The Devil Went Down to Austin (#4) (2002)
  • Southtown (#5) (2004)
  • Mission Road (#6) (2005)
  • Rebel Island (#7) (2008)

Percy Jackson & the Olympians

Related books

  • The Demigod Files (2009)
  • The Ultimate Guide (2010, Antonio Caparo, Philip Chidlow, and Keven Hays)
  • The Demigod Diaries (2012)
  • Percy Jackson and the Singer of Apollo (2013, short story)
  • Percy Jackson’s Greek Gods (2014, illustrations by John Rocco)
  • Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes (2015, illustrations by John Rocco)
  • Camp Half-Blood Confidential (2017)
  • The Percy Jackson Coloring Book (2017, artwork by Keith Robinson)
  • The Lightning Thief: Illustrated Edition (August 14, 2018, illustrated by John Rocco)

The Heroes of Olympus

  • The Lost Hero (#1) (2010)
  • The Son of Neptune (#2) (2011)
  • The Mark of Athena (#3) (2012)
  • The House of Hades (#4) (2013)
  • The Blood of Olympus (#5) (2014)

Related books

  • Demigods of Olympus (2015, interactive e-book)

Graphic novels

  • The Lightning Thief Graphic Novel (2010, with Robert Venditti, Nate Powell, and Jose Villarrubia)
  • The Red Pyramid Graphic Novel (2012)
  • The Sea of Monsters Graphic Novel (2013, with Robert Venditti, Attila Futaki, and Tamas Gaspar)
  • The Titan’s Curse Graphic Novel (2013, with Robert Venditti, Attila Futaki, and Gregory Guilhaumond)
  • The Lost Hero Graphic Novel (2014, with Robert Venditti, Nate Powell, and Orpheus Collar)
  • The Throne of Fire Graphic Novel (2015, adapted by Orpheus Collar)
  • The Son of Neptune Graphic Novel (2017, with Robert Venditti, Antoine Dode, and Orpheus Collar)
  • The Serpent’s Shadow Graphic Novel (2017)

The Kane Chronicles

  • The Red Pyramid (#1) (2010)
  • The Throne of Fire (#2) (2011)
  • The Serpent’s Shadow (#3) (2012)

Related books

  • Survival Guide (2012)
  • Brooklyn House Magician’s Manual (2018)

The 39 Clues series

  • The Maze of Bones (2008)
  • Introduction to The 39 Clues: The Black Book of Buried Secrets (2010)
  • Vespers Rising (2011, with Peter Lerangis, Gordon Korman, and Jude Watson)

Stand alone novels

  • Cold Springs (2004)

Demigods and Magicians crossover collection

  • The Son of Sobek (2013)
  • The Staff of Serapis (2014)
  • The Crown of Ptolemy (2015)

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard

  • The Sword of Summer (#1) (2015)
  • The Hammer of Thor (#2) (2016)
  • The Ship of the Dead (#3) (2017)

Related books

  • Hotel Valhalla: Guide to the Norse Worlds (2016)
  • The Magnus Chase Coloring Book (2018, artwork by Keith Robinson)
  • 9 from the Nine Worlds (2018)

The Trials of Apollo

  • The Hidden Oracle (#1) (2016)
  • The Dark Prophecy (#2) (2017)
  • The Burning Maze (#3) (2018)
  • The Tyrant’s Tomb (#4) (2019)


  • Introduction to the anthology Tales of the Greek Heroes, Roger Lancelyn Green (2009)
  • Introduction to the essay collection Demigods and Monsters (2009, 2013)


Filed under Author Profiles, Riordan, Rick

3 Responses to Rick Riordan Profile and Books

  1. Pingback: The Lightning Thief by Rick Riordan | Written Gems

  2. Pingback: The Sea of Monsters by Rick Riordan | Written Gems

  3. Pingback: The Titan’s Curse by Rick Riordan | Written Gems

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>